Roma, Milan, Juventus, and Inter fined by UEFA due to breach of Financial Fair Play

John Solano

Roma were one of four Serie A sides to be handed down punishments today by UEFA after being accused of breaching Financial Fair Play regulations.

UEFA’s Club Financial Control Body (CFCB) announced the Giallorossi were one of eight European clubs punished for failing to comply with the break-even requirement outlined in the FFP regulations. In addition to Roma, Milan, Juventus, Inter, Marseille, PSG, Monaco, and Besiktas were also deemed to be in violation.

The CFCB also noted they reached settlement agreements with all eight clubs, who agreed to a total of €172 million in financial contributions, specific targets and conditional and unconditional sporting restrictions over the next few years.

Roma have been fined a minimum of €5 million but could face an additional €30 million depending on compliance with the targets stated in the respective settlement agreement.

Furthermore, the Giallorossi will only be permitted to register 23 players instead of 25 in European play this season.

Roma and Inter agreed to enter identical 4-year period Settlement Agreements with CFCB for five seasons (2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26 and 2026/27).

While extensive, here’s a brief summation on the settlement agreement between the capital club and UEFA:

  • UEFA accepted the financial plan submitted by Roma that detailed how the club will be in-line with the with the stability requirements (“earnings requirements”) within five years.
  • Roma must be in-line with UEFA earnings requirements by the 2026/27 season.
  • The club will pay an immediate fine of €5 million but risk additional amounts if they do not hit their financial targets outlined within the agreement. In addition, they also risk not being able to register newly acquired players and could face a European ban if these targets aren’t reached.

The full settlement agreement can be found here.

Match Center

MatchDay 37
19 May 20:45