Conference League: Roma vs. Vitesse Preview

Roma-Vitesse Conference League showdown
John Solano

Roma began the most crucial stretch of their season with a massive 1-0 victory over Atalanta this past Saturday.

The win reignited the Giallorossi’s hopes for a potential top four league finish, but now their attention shifts to the Conference League. José Mourinho’s men travel to the Netherlands for the first leg of their Round of 16 clash against Vitesse on Thursday evening.

Mourinho is expected to field most of the starting eleven that defeated La Dea this past weekend. However, one change he’ll undoubtedly make is reinserting midfielder Sérgio Oliveira. 

The Portuguese international was rested this past weekend after recently overcoming a muscle injury suffered two weeks ago. The veteran is expected to slot alongside Lorenzo Pellegrini and Henrikh Mkhitaryan in midfield.

As for the hosts, they enter the clash following a bizarre set of events last Friday during their league showdown against Sparta Rotterdam.

Midway through the second half, Sparta goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, whose side was winning 1-0, was struck by a beer-filled cup throw by Vitesse supporters. As a result, the match was suspended.

The club’s general director Pascal van Wijk commented on the events shortly afterwards.

“We wanted to continue playing, but the referee decided different,” he told the club’s website.

“A few individuals completely ruin it with their misbehavior for the vast majority who do support the team in a positive way. We deeply regret what’s happened and we’re ashamed of these events. We’ve given our apologies to Sparta.”

Nonetheless, Roma will undoubtedly face a hostile environment after the club announced tickets for Thursday’s clash are sold out.

The two sides kick-off at 18.45 CET on Thursday at the GelreDome stadium in Arnhem.


Probable Formations

Roma Logo

AS Roma

(3-5-2): Rui Patricio; Smalling, Kumbulla, Ibanez; Karsdorp, Mkhitaryan, Oliveira, Pellegrini, Viña; Zaniolo, Abraham

Vitesse Logo


(3-4-1-2): Houwen; Oroz, Rasmussen, Doekhl; Dasa, Tronstad, Dmgjoni, Bero; Manhoef; Frederiksen, Openda

Match Center

MatchDay 38
26 May 20:45