Four from Roma named to Conference League team of the season, Pellegrini best player

Andy Mattioli

Unsurprisingly, multiple Roma players were named to the Conference League’s Team of the Season, with captain Lorenzo Pellegrini selected as the Player of the Season.

The midfielder was joined by teammates Tammy Abraham, Chris Smalling, and Rui Patricio in the best eleven of the tournament.

Pellegrini tallied 4 goals and 2 assists in 10 appearances in the competition. From the group stage onwards, he registered 22 shots – with only Tammy Abraham earning more for the Giallorossi.

His set-piece and open-play delivery was also vital to José Mourinho’s side throughout the competition. Pellegrini was one of only two players to complete two crosses in the final and no Roma player could match his 19 across their European campaign.

Here’s the full squad named to UEFA’s Conference League Team of the Season.

Rui Patrício (Roma)

Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Chris Smalling (Roma), Gernot Trauner (Feyenoord), Tyrell Malacia (Feyenoord)

Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Dimitri Payet (Marseille), Kiernan Dewsbury-Hall (Leicester), Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord)

Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord), Tammy Abraham (Roma)

Match Center

MatchDay 38
26 May 20:45