Referee admits error in awarding penalty, Roma respond: “We thank them for their honesty”.


Roma announced via their official Twitter account that referee William Callum, who oversaw this evening’s affair between the Italian side and Borussia Mönchengladbach, admitted his mistake in awarding a last second penalty to the German side as the match ended in a 1-1 draw.

The Scotsman awarded the Germans a penalty despite the ball having clearly ricocheted off the head of Chris Smalling – which Callum deemed to be a hand-ball. The penalty was subsequently scored and cost Roma two points in their Europa League group tie.

The Giallorossi announced, “Roma’s management spoke to the match officials after the game and they admitted that the decision to award the penalty was a mistake. We respect and thank them for their genuine honesty and now we focus on the next game”.

Meanwhile, Roma host Milan in their next league tie on Sunday.

More News
Fbl-EUR-C3-LUDOGORETS-ROMA
Roma set to renew Cristian Volpato's contract
US Sassuolo v US Lecce - Serie A
Sassuolo's Giovanni Carnevali discusses Davide Frattesi's failed Roma transfer
Getty Images)
Stadio Olimpico pitch to undergo renovation in November

LATEST PODCAST EPISODE

NEXT MATCH

Serie A 2022-23
01-10-2022 16:00
Inter
INT
Roma